India Dominates Australia And Eases To Victory

The two day India v. Australia t20 Cricket for the Blind series totally belonged to the Indian team as they demolished the visitors in the second match and thus wrapped up the series 2-0.

The second match between Australia and India T20 cricket for the Blind began at the PES College grounds with the chief guests being the legendary cricketer Syed Kirmani, who played for India, Mr Suresh Menon, Wisden India Almanac editor, noted film artist Shivaramanna, Chief Commissioner of Disabilities Sri Prasanna Kumar Pincha and MD of ANZ Smt Pankajam Sridevi and other dignitaries.

Unlike the 1st match, the Indian openers got off to a good start with two consecutive boundaries. But Lindsay Heaven got an early breakthrough removing opener Ramesh in his very first over.

India came back strongly into the game with a brisk 51 by Surojit and a more sedate 44 from Amol. They had a strong second wicket partnership of 113 runs.

The highlight of the first innings was India’s excellent running between the wickets, when the boundaries dried up. Thanks to Australia’s tight fielding, running between the wickets was pivotal to keeping the run rate up, while the Australian bowling shuffled constantly making it difficult for the batsmen to settle.

With new players in the Indian squad, everyone chipped in for a reasonable total of 224. Prakash tried to accelerate the run rate but perished quickly.

In the second innings, Australia was cautious in their approach, with a few singles, until the pressure mounted, which resulted in the loss of two quick wickets.

Opener Stephen Palmer (5) and Sam Byrne (4) left without troubling the scoreboard. There was a huge margin in the scores with Australia failing to gain momentum, thanks to India’s fielding prowess and a disciplined bowling effort that managed to completely dry up the Aussie singles.

A massive collapse in the Aussie batting ensued, as the Australians slid from 58 for 2 to 70 for 6 by the end of the twelfth over.

The Australian innings finally ended with an ordinary 96 all out from 19.5 overs.

The T20 Cricket for the Blind series between India and Australia kicked off at the KSCA Alur grounds on the 13th of April, 2014 and ended at the PES College Grounds on the 14th of April 2014. The two day series was inaugurated by Shri P.K.Pincha, The Chief Commissioner for Persons With Disabilities, Mr. G.K.Mahantesh, Vice President of the World Blind Cricket Association and the Founder Managing Trustee, Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled along with Mr. Raymond Moxly, General Secretary of the World Blind Cricket Association and the Chairman of Blind Cricket Australia and Mr. Umesh, CEO of Ace System Manufacturers.

“It is interesting to know how the cricketers make use of their ears to play the game effectively”, stated Mr. Umesh, CEO of Ace System Manufacturers.

Shri P.K.Pincha complimented the Australians on their cricketing passion and spirit to tour India and they now certainly have a couple of games under their belt prior to the team’s tour of Sri Lanka.

Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled is grateful to CBM, ANZ, BEML, The Eye Foundation and ASM Technologies for their kind support and encouragement.

The presentation Ceremony took place in front of a packed crowd.

The first man of the match award was given to (13th April) – Prakash (India) – 132 of 47 balls.

The second man of the Match award was given to (14th April) – Amol (India) – 4-13

The man of the Series awards were given to – B1 – Amol (India), B2 –Lindsey Heaven (Australia), B3 – Prakash (India)

the best Wicket Keeper award of the series was given to Prakash (India).

The teams were also awarded certificates and medals.