All posts by Marco Curralejo

Fanatical player and follower of cricket, goalball and swish. Love to broadcast all blind sport, so feel free to contact me via email, FB or on Twitter, and we’ll see what we can do to bring your sporting event to life online.

India Cruised To Easy Win

The opening day of the T20 Cricket for the Blind clearly belonged to The Indian team.

In a high scoring first match, the Indians went about accumulating a total of 291 runs, in the stipulated 20 overs.

India was off to a shaky start after a few uneasy moments when Ajay Reddy and Kethan Patel were dismissed for nought, but after that, there was no looking back.

Skipper Shekar Naik and wicket keeper opener Prakash Jayaramaiah then took the centre stage, and led from the front sharing a massive 217 run partnership between them for the third wicket. Whilst Prakash was the aggressor with an unbeaten 132 off 47, Shekhar was a stable partner with 131 off 63 balls.

The main highlight of the Indian innings was Prakash as he played every stroke in the book, before retiring hurt with a pulled hamstring. Shekar was adjudged LBW in the last over.

On the Australians bowling part, Lindsay Heaven and Matthew McCarthy chipped in with two wickets apiece.

The Indian innings had 54 boundaries and one six hit by Shekar at the 17.5th over mark.

In contrast, Michael Zannis (54) and Cory Heberley (34) were the only players who really got going throughout the Aussie innings. With the dot balls mounting, India kept the pressure on the Australians. Cory Heberley struggled to find the right momentum before perishing for 34 runs. Captain Matthew McCarthy tried to go the aerial route but without any success.

Precision was the code of the day as the Indians tightened the noose with electric fielding and bowling in the right areas, and as a result, Australia finished with 162 in their 20 overs. India won the first T20 match comprehensively and convincingly.

Debutante Amol Karche was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3 for 10.

The man of the match is Prakash Jayramaiah.

The second and final game will be played at PES College grounds, Hosur Road, Electronics City at 11am on April 14th, Monday. All are invited.

Brief Scores:

India (Prakash 132, Shekar 131, Lindsay 2/37, Matthew 2/64)
Australia (Michael 50, Cory 34, Amol 3/10)

Blind Cricket National Tournament Comes To An End

The blind cricket national tournament held at Somerset West, Cape Town in scorching heat revealed some interesting new young talented South African cricket players.

South Africa’s blind cricket national team will now be strengthened by the inclusion of the new talent. Our blind youth are capable sport persons and this tournament showed how people can rise above the odds against them.

“BCSA is proud to be part of the development of young blind people to achieve highest allocades” says Philip Bam, tournament Director and Executive Member of BCSA.

Northern Gauteng gained top position on the log, with KZN being runners up. In third place was Boland followed by Western province in fourth with Central being 5th and Free State last on the log.

Desigan Pillay of KZN was crowned batsman of the tournament with 379 runs on the board. He also went home with the player of the tournament trophy having taken 8 wickets as well.

The best Bowler was Simon Nama from Free State having taken 11 wickets during the tournament.

Blind Cricket is on a firm wicket and needs support from the general public and the provincial cricket structures.